About the Band


The Concert Band competes in the Canberra Eisteddfod every year. The Bands play regularly at events around Tuggeranong and across Canberra including:
Tharwa Preschool Bush Fair
Tuggeranong Festival
Lanyon Homestead Carols By Candlelight
Retirement villages and hostels
​Community Events



Our aim is to become more connected with our local community, and to provide opportunities for all musicians to play in a community band environment.



We fund raise throughout the year, such as the Bunnings Tuggeranong Sausage Sizzle. We hope you can come to our next one!

Shilong Ye, our former Musical Director, shows the 'Footsteps To Follow' plaque awarded by Joy Burch, The Minister of the Arts, for recognition as making a positive and significant contribution to Tuggeranong in the last 25 years. Part of the Canberra Centenary celebrations.
The plaque is mounted on the wall of the Tuggeranong Town Park stone wall entrance on Anketell St.


Concert Band

The Tuggeranong Valley Band was formed in 1980 under the baton of Burt Ansell. Based at the Erindale College, the band was originally known as the Erindale Band. The band changed its name to the Tuggeranong Valley Band in 1987, and in 1989 moved to the Lake Tuggeranong College. In 2005, the band relocated to Village Creek Primary School, and in December 2007 the Tuggeranong Uniting Church. In  2015 the band moved to its current home at Namadgi School. In 2020 the Concert Band welcomed Rodney Clancy as Musical Director.

Previous Musical Directors
Shilong Ye, David Hatch, Cameron Smith, Michael Faragher, Bert Ansell, Helen Robinson, Ann Sutton, Kevin Grifferty, Ben Newbold, Peter Smith, Kirsty Biggs, Mark Biggs, Ben Fixter, Gerry Foster, and Adam Powers.

Stage Band

In 1991, Tuggeranong Valley Band Inc. formed a junior division of its band program. This band, originally known as the Junior band was formed under the leadership of Catherine Cool. It later became known as the Youth Band and in 2004 was renamed the Intermediate Band following an expansion of the band to cater for people of all ages. The band was renamed once again to the Stage Band, to reflect a change of style. In 2019 David Greenwood began as Musical Director.

Previous Musical Directors
Shilong Ye, Sarah Nielsen, Cameron Smith, Ruth Williams, Catherine Cool, Paul Davies, Matthew Radisich, Wally Pope, Jo Williams, Ben Fixter, Kirsty Bigg, Jenny Brereton, and Nick Woods.

Beginner Band

In 2019 a Beginner Band was established to promote an inclusive band catering for those with limited musical experience, changing instruments, or returning to playing after a break. Various members have participated, including young and formerly young musicians. Currently Byron Luck and Jenny Brereton are the Musical Directors.